Letters to Talya · the 52 lists project · Uncategorized

#11 Lis the ways you can rejuvenate your space

I had to think about this one a lot…honestly, I thought about it for a few days.  The more I thought about it, the more I realized how much this subject brings me back to my home over and over again. 

You see I live in a townhome that has 3 levels, actually they call it a reverse plan. My kitchen, family room, dining room are all upstairs on the 3rd level.  In the beginning it was nice, different and fun actually; talk about wanting to rejuvenate the floor plan.  Since I can’t don’t that (unless I tear the place down and build from scratch), I figured when the time comes, I’ll want to make to make more room and declutter, I know I can do that; and guess what, the time has come.

Ironically, for the past 3 weeks, I have been taking a level at a time, and a section at a time in each room.  It’s been a LONG process and 16+ hours a day, however, I knew the full potential it can have, and let me tell you, what a difference it has made… it looks refreshed, and shall I say rejuvenated?

In saying that, here’s my list to help you rejuvenate your space:

  • Organize my closet – my closet is unrecognizable; it looks so much better and bigger!
  • Get a new mattress – I had no idea how much it was bothering my back, so in the interim, I bought a mattress topper to help, until I’m ready to purchase a new mattress. Let me tell you, it has made a huge
  • Buy storage boxes for shoes – that will help me put away shoes I don’t wear too often (the fancy sparkly ones, the high heels etc…). I’m liking how I have more room for the shoes I wear more often, and it looks so neat and rejuvenated!
  • Buy or move around accent rugs – I think this gives your space a face lift, and I did just that last week, and I’m LOVING it.
  • Buy bookshelf – I have too many books, and I have to dig in this big pile to find one the one I’m looking for. This is not like me, I am VERY organized, tidy and neat, how I have let this go for this long, boggles my mind.  Well, I knew putting them in a proper bookshelf will not only make it look organized and neat, it will also make it easier to find.
  • Create a picture gallery wall – this is my GOAL. I have so many pictures, and we know pictures truly capture the moment.  When I was working, I used to have a wall that I thumbtacked my pictures in my office, mostly of my social life and family events or weddings. I used to change them every month, and my co-workers would look forward to come into my office to see the new pictures posted.  They loved how I captured so many fun and wonderful moments with my friends, and their favorite pictures were of the weddings.  We Armenia’s have lavish and big weddings.  It gave them an opportunity to get know my family and friends.  I can’t wait to do this in my home, change pictures monthly, which means, I need pull my iPhone up and capture moments when I’m with my friends and family regardless if it’s an event or a get together for tea.
  • New curtains – I’ve been thinking about this for a long time; I’ve had the same ones for as long as I’ve been in my home… I do wash them every few months, however, it may just give the family room, a nice “face lift” to get new ones.  
  • New throw pillows – I just bought a few new ones 2 weeks ago, that were in lighter color to contrast the sofa and the current pillows I have; and let me tell you, what a difference.  They are bouncy, full, and sit on the sofa so much better. It reminded me of a balloon; when you first get it, it’s filled with helium and is full of life, and as time goes by, you noticed it’s not as bouncy, and it is slowly losing the helium. These new pillows were definitely a good choice, and even give my sofa a better look.

Well friends, there you have it… just a few things to help rejuvenate your space.  Let me know how you rejuvenate your space-

Head on over and click below to read my 2 friends’ point of view on this subject at:

Leave a comment